Home > News > An Awesome Event in Vieques

An Awesome Event in Vieques

January 24, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

POP QUIZ: 

Who attended the Pig Roast event last night in Vieques?  I did, and I am sooooooo glad I travelled to Vieques just for that.  Well, I may be exaggerating a bit.   I did travel to Vieques yesterday afternoon to attend the event last night (Wednesday the 23rd), but I also stayed overnight to attend some meetings today.  Hey, I am entitled to having some fun too. 

Crow’s Nest was the site and it was absolutely nice to be there with so many joyful and cooperating people.  For me it was quite an experience, since this was my first fundraising event at Vieques and was not sure what to expect, but the event was flawlessly organized and the ambiance was simply marvelous.  The food was excellent and plentiful.  If you are a dessert lover and you did not attend, the only thing I can do for you is extend my condolences. 

Some of those attending walked away with awesome raffle gifts.  I do not remember his name, but I do remember that he is from Baltimore and that he walked away with a fishing trip for two.  I also remember his face when he found out what he had won! 

Though many were directly and indirectly involved in the creation and execution of this event, and many others collaborated amply to assure its tremendous success, the sure winners were those of us who were lucky enough to attend (tickets ran out quickly), and the community of Vieques who will be better served because of the donations obtained last night. 

Congratulations to all and I only have one question:  When is the next one? 

Kind regards, 

Santiago F. Lampón

Categories: News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

